- QR Code Generator & Reader
- QR Code in Library
- QR Code : Fact
- QR in China
- QR Code in Malaysia
- Library Activity
A QR code can be scanned by the camera of a mobile device - provided it is equipped with a QR code reader application - enabling you to display text or directly opening a web page from your mobile device
- Main portal > Scan to open portal in mobile (mobile responsive) ✔
- Library Guide (Video) > Scan to open Youtube video ✔
- Chat with Librarian > Scan to open chat window
- Public Repository > Scan to open in mobile
- Info Caster > Scan to open record in mobile ✔
- Terminal eBook > Scan to transfer record to mobile ✔
- Online Form > Scan to open form in web
- Calendaring - PTAR facilities.
- Book > Scan for acc num and title ✔ (better open record for status)
- LIKE > Scan to auto like Pages
- every poster must have QR Code, need to identify redirect user to what info - link / text.
- QR Code exhibition, poster of large QR Code and little text.
- Scan to borrow item, work with booking system.
- Kaywa http://qrcode.kaywa.com/
- QR Code and 2D Code Generator http://keremerkan.net/qr-code-and-2d-code-generator/
- QR Generator from ZXing http://zxing.appspot.com/generator/
- Mobile barcodes http://www.mobile-barcodes.com/qr-code-generator/
- GoQR http://goqr.me/
- Barcode http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/barcode/id285683111?mt=8
- NeoReader http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/neoreader/id284973754?mt=8
- RedLaser http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/redlaser-barcode-scanner-qr/id312720263?mt=8
- ScanLife http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/scanlife/id285324287?mt=8
- Barcode Scanner https://market.android.com/details?id=com.google.zxing.client.android&feature=search_result
- QuickMark https://market.android.com/details?id=tw.com.quickmark&feature=search_result
- ScanLife https://market.android.com/details?id=com.ScanLife&feature=search_result
- ShopSavvy https://market.android.com/details?id=com.biggu.shopsavvy&feature=search_result
- BeeTagg http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/5781
- QR Code Scanner Pro http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/13962?lang=en
- ScanLife http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/1102
1 - Promotional Materials. Bookmarks, fliers, and posters are just a few of the places where you can place QR codes. The codes can link to your library website, program calendar, electronic databases, or other important resources. Weave the QR codes into your marketing campaign.
QR codes might take users to Survey Monkey for a library poll, send you an e-mail message, or enter students in a drawing or contest.
2 - Presentation Materials. When doing professional development activities with teachers, provide a QR code on the presentation handouts to access a transcript of the presentation, PowerPoint document, or supplemental website materials. You can even place QR codes on PowerPoint slides. Users can scan them off the screen.
3 - Tour. From freshman orientation to new student assistance, it's time to revise your school and library tours. QR codes can be placed a map of the slibrary. Or, QR codes can be placed in different areas of the library. Think about how photographs can be used on the web page links to ensure that students have found the location being discussed.
4 - Book Connections. Use QR codes on book covers to provide access to book blurbs, author interviews, and book trailers. Think about color coding the QR codes. For instance, a blue QR code might be used for links to read-alikes displayed on a web page, blog entry, or a catalog search. Blogs work particularly well. They also get your students accustomed to visiting your library blog. Be sure to link to the specific blog entry rather than the entry page. Glogster is an effective tool to sharing because you and your students can easily incorporate text, graphics, audio, and video.
5 - Online Reading. From e-book downloads to online reading opportunities, QR codes can be used to link students with online content. Provide access to free e-books, library e-book downloads, and online magazine subscriptions.
For instance, create handouts with links to seasonal poems and short stories such as love stories for Valentine's day, spooky tales for Halloween (on right), and patriotic poems for Veterans day.
6 - Scavenger Hunts. Known as scan-venger hunts by QR fans, think about how you can use QR codes in learning. Consider a science or history mystery. Students could become detectives or take on other roles. They use QR codes found around a science exhibit or placed throughout the library to collect evidence, investigate photographs, and solve a mystery or make a decision.
The QR Treasure Hunt Generator makes creating a treasure hunt easy.
7 - Worksheets. Whether practicing website evaluation or providing subject area content links, QR codes can be placed on any type of paper worksheet or handout. Use links to provide students with videos to kickstart a science worksheet or an NPR current issues program to highlight topic in the news. Use bookmarking services like Delicious to provide links to resources used in an assignment.
Worksheet QR codes could also provide links to online quizzes at Quia or interactive tools from ReadWriteThink..
8 - Q&A Activities. As an alternative to students using teacher-produced worksheets, get students to create their own questions and answers. It's a great way to students to create reading comprehension questions for peers. For instance, a student might write a series of questions on a career from the Bureau of Labor and Statistics website (below). Then, provide a QR code for a website for peers to read and a QR code that links to a document containing the answers. Consider providing students with quality content websites such as government sites to get them started. If you're working with elementary students, consider Scholasticarticles or resources from Kids.gov.
For a really easy activity, ask students to incorporate a Wikipedia article into their Q&A activity. Use QRpedia to create a quick wikipedia QR code.
9 - Annotated Bibliography. From dioramas to posters, students often build creative projects to express their content understandings. However, it's important that students provide an overview of their project, background information, and cite their sources. Increasingly, librarians are encouraging teachers to require an annotated bibliography to ensure that students have used authoritative source in development of their creative works. Encourage students to place a QR code in their science exhibit or on their social issues poster that provides a link to their bibliography. Students can use one of the many online word processors to write and share their assignment. For instance, in Google Docs students can choose to "Publish to the web..." from the File menu. This generates a URL that can be shared on a WR code.
10 - Bulletin Boards. Post photographs of the presidents and have students create QR codes to their reports. Reports can be created using free and inexpensive web tools like Wikispaces, Google Sites, Weebly, and Wix.
Post book covers of nonfiction books on a bulletin board. Then, involve students in using content curation websites like Scoop.it and only2clicks to organize links related to their nonfiction topic and sharing their site with a QR code. This is a great way to update nonfiction books with current information. Challenge students to create updates for your dated books on topics like Pluto (right below), cancer research, and endangered animals.
11 - Maps. QR codes can easily be placed on maps such as travel or cultural information QR codes on a world map. Read books set in your state or province. Ask students to write about how the book reflects the place. QR codes can be placed on the state and linked to information about the book. Use a map of the United States to trace human migration through American history. QR codes could be placed on the Oregon Trail, the Dust Bowl migrations to California, and the Great Migration of African Americans from the rural south to the urban North. Different colored codes could represent different eras in American history. Student QR codes could link to a student-created Google Map with placemarks identifying locations involved with the migration.
12 - Walking Exhibit. Post pieces of artwork around the library. Ask students to create a QR code to go with the exhibit. The links could provide artist information and other images by the artist. You could also play an artwork game. See if students can guess the artist, then check their answer with a QR code. Consider using a tool like Voki for an audio exhibit.
QR Voice is an easy-to-use tool for recording your voice (up to 100 characters) and generating a QR code.
13 - Transmedia Storytelling. Involve students in writing engaging short stories that are revealed through QR codes. A story might begin with a bookmark containing the title of the story and a QR code. Scanning the code would take students to a web page introducing the story along with a clue about the location of the next QR code. Maybe the character is thirsty and heads to the water fountain. Or, the character sits in seat B32 in the auditorium. Of course, all your students will want to place QR codes in bathroom stalls!
Source : Scan Me! QR Codes in School Library
- Lawrence University Seeley G. Mudd Libraryhas created a QR code information page to help our patrons understand QR codes. We use QR codes to direct patrons to our virtual tour, to electronic music resources, to our mobile web site, to begin text messages to the interlibrary loan office, and more. Take a look at our Flickr page to see all of the ways we use QR codes.
- Boise State University's Albertsons Library uses QR codes to link to its mobile website in its blog and main Twitter page. There is also an informative research guide about QR codes--what they are, how they are being used in Albertsons Library, tips on creating effective codes, and recommended QR code readers/scanners.
- Brigham Young University's Harold B. Lee Library uses QR codes for its library audio tour, for Group Study Room on-the-spot reservations (http://lib.byu.edu/sites/qrcodes/) and for event poster information download.
- Half Hollow Hills Community Library uses datamatrix codes on end stacks to lead patrons to subject guides on the web.
- ACU Library uses mobile tags in library exhibits to link to songs, videos, websites, and realtime searches of our library catalog. It's a good way to incorporate electronic media with physical items and to make the display more engaging.
- Bath University Library is adding QR codes to catalog records to offer patrons basic info about an item (including location and call number).
- Biblioteca Rector Gabriel Ferraté. Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (BRGF) uses QR Codes to provide additional information on promotional posters and on the web pages, to provide username and password to users who subscribe to theCLIC Area service (a computer classroom), to generate reminders of reservations of the group study rooms library, to fill the suggestion forms or to enrich the contents of the library’s jazz collection. Take a look at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQj3kD0F2uI to know more about one of the QR applications at the BRGF.
- Lafayette College Library used QR codes for their 2010 Open House event geared to first year students, "Where in the Library is Carmen Sandiego: An Interactive Mystery Game". Students had to collect QR coded-clues from librarians stationed throughout the library.
- RMIT University Library used QR codes for a contest it was running.
- Ryerson University Library and Archives is using QR codes in its library catalogue and for downloadable audio tours.
- Sacramento Public Library offers a QR code to patrons that will load the library's text message reference service info into the patron's phone. The code can be found on the Text 4 Answers page of the library website and the library's blog. More info at The Civil Librarian.
- University of Huddersfield Library is using them for linking to text messaging reference service, videos, contact info, and, in the catalog records, providing basic info about items. See Andrew Walsh's presentation, "QR codes, text a librarian, and more..."
- The San Diego State University Library is using QR Codes in its library catalog, on staff directory pages and on research guides.
- Emily Carr University of Art + Design Library is using QR codes in displays and signage.
- Contra Costa County Library is using QR codes to market downloadable audiobooks to people using public transit.
- Contra Costa County Library is using QR codes on popular books to recommend further reading.
- George Fox University Libraries are using QR codes on DVDs and audiobooks to point users to video trailers, on doors for room reservations and more - see our flickr set of examples 
- Syracuse University Library Learning Commons is using QR Codes on their bookmarks, tabletop signs, and on the flyer advertising their virtual tour - see our set on Flickr .
- UC Irvine Libraries is running a pilot with QR codes in the stacks. The Arts section directs QR code users to LC arts classification system to aid browing the physical book collections. The Math section uses QR codes embedded in the stacks to direct users to the Springer mathematics ebook collections.
- Marathon County Public Library (MCPL) uses QR codes on posters and other print media to connect customers to search results for related items in the library catalog (i.e. for book clubs, author visits, etc. ... links to the item(s) in question)
- Southwest Iowa Library Service Area (SWILSA) has begun a "shared" list of readalikes for various popular authors. A sheet of codes, formatted for label stickers, is available to print and attach to shelves near those authors' books.
- Providence College Library developed an introductory QR subject guide as a complement to their QR initiative. The guide includes an explanatory animation, QR uses at Providence College, linked resources and more.
- Tompkins County Public Library is using QR codes to advertise its downloadable eBook service, themed booklists and its social networking sites. Our QR code guide contains basic information and examples of our work.
- Library exhibits that include a QR code link to songs, videos, Web sites, surveys, contests, etc. or other information that augments the exhibits.
- Codes in the library stacks/end caps or magazine/journal areas that point to online electronic holdings of print materials or related subject guides.
- Linking to library audio tours for orientations.
- Code added to print handouts for additional information on mobile friendly sites.
- QR code with text that loads the library’s text message reference service and other contact information into the patron’s phone.
- Art shows or permanent art in libraries with a QR code linking to the artists’ Web sites.
- In catalog records to offer patrons basic info about an item, including the location and call number. Users can scan the code and head to the stacks rather than writing or printing.
- Taped to video/DVD cases, linking to mobile-friendly video trailers.
- Code placed on staff directory pages and research guides that go to mobile friendly sites for later reference.
- Code placed on audio book cases for author interviews or books for reviews.
- Code placed on study room doors connecting to room reservation forms.
- Library video tutorials—individual videos or create a QR code to a YouTube playlists of videos, which create a great mobile home screen app that can be saved for easy access, as needed.
- Smart phones used to scan QR codes are often expensive in comparison with simpler phones.
- Relatively new barcode type, people are not much familiar with its use. Requires training in order to fully understand the concept.
- Not very aesthetic, it contains random patterns of square boxes which might not look pleasing on products unlike 1-d barcodes.
- High Capacity - store a lot more data, allowing for real content to be stored and not just IDs or references.
- Require Less Space - Get the same data stored over a much smaller surface area.
- Dust And Damage Resistant - Even when damaged there is a chance they are still readable.
- Readable From Any Direction - Scan them from any angle, readers don't need to be aligned to the orientation of the code.
- Structured Appending - Data can be split over multiple codes which when scanned can be combined to reconstruct the original content.
BERMULA Jun depan, semua 20 Universiti Awam (UA) akan dijadikan kampus pintar atau kampus digital selaras dengan usaha Kementerian Pendidikan Tinggi (KPT) mengadaptasi teknologi dalam pendidikan tinggi negara.
Ketua Pengarah Jabatan Pengajian Tinggi Kementerian Pendidikan Tinggi Datin Paduka Ir Dr Siti Hamisah Tapsir berkata, ketika ini Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) dan Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) sudah mengaplikasikan bacaan kod Respons Pantas (QR) kepada penuntutnya.
"Menteri Pendidikan Tinggi Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh sudah meletakkan Petunjuk Prestasi Utama (KPI) supaya semua UA dijadikan kampus pintar menjelang Jun 2018.
"Ini bermakna penuntut akan menggunakan kod QR untuk setiap pembelian, pendaftaran, meminjam buku dan sebagainya, jadi sebarang urusan di kampus akan beroperasi tanpa tunai dan kad," katanya ketika ditemui media selepas menyampaikan ucaptama pada Forum Pengurusan Universiti Berkaitan Kerajaan (GLU) 2017 di Putrajaya, hari ini.
Forum Pengurusan GLU 2017 dianjurkan gabungan empat universiti GLU iaitu Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), Universiti Multimedia (MMU) dan Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) yang dinamakan 'Industry Driven Higher Education Alliance (IDEA)'.
Tahun ini, forum membincangkan kesan dan cabaran Revolusi Industri 4.0 terhadap pengajaran dan pembelajaran, penyelidikan dan inovasi serta pembangunan mahasiswa.
Siti Hamisah berkata, usaha menjadikan UA sebagai kampus digital adalah sebahagian daripada Pendidikan 4.0 yang menyediakan garis panduan mengenai pendidikan tinggi negara dalam mendepani cabaran dan memenuhi keperluan Revolusi Industri 4.0.
Sementara itu, beliau berkata, rangka kerja Pendidikan 4.0 dijangka dibentangkan kepada Kabinet tahun depan selepas diperhalusi di peringkat kementerian.
Katanya, ketika ini, kementerian masih turun padang untuk memberi penerangan dan penjelasan berhubung Pendidikan 4.0 kepada pihak berkepentingan sebelum mendapat maklum balas mengenainya.
"Kita kena pastikan semua pihak bersedia dengan Pendidikan 4.0 barulah boleh dilaksanakan. Kita juga sedang menyediakan dokumen Pendidikan 4.0, sebelum dimuktamadkan," katanya.
Beliau berkata, rangka kerja Pendidikan 4.0 mempunyai empat elemen iaitu kurikulum yang fleksibel, kerajaan yang tangkas, kajian dan bakat.
- Tan Sri Dr Abdullah Sanusi Digital library : Using QR Codes in enhancing learning in elementary statistics